Safeguarding

The Joseph Whitaker School is committed to the safeguarding and promoting the welfare of all children. We believe that an environment conducive to learning can only happen when children are feeling safe and secure and they are able to then thrive and succeed.

 

The school is comprised of Houses; Clumber, Newstead, Rufford and Sherwood as well as the Sixth Form. Each House is led by the Head of House and each tutor group is led by their tutor who will be the students first point of contact each day. This offers our students an opportunity to discuss any matters that they need to. All staff have annual safeguarding training in accordance with the Keeping Children Safe in Education 2022’. We have very experienced members of staff who will be able to offer students support.

 

The Designated Safeguarding Team is illustrated below. Should you need to make urgent contact please phone the school: 01623 792327 and ask to speak to one of the team otherwise please use their email:

 

DSL Team                  Role                                                            Contact details:

Mrs J Roberts          Designated Safeguarding Lead                  robertsj@josephwhitaker.org

Mrs L Stead              Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead   steadl@josephwhitaker.org

Mrs C Ayres             The Headteacher                                         headteacher@josephwhitaker.org

Mr A Jacques          Head of the Sixth Form & DSL                 jacquesa@josephwhitaker.org

Mrs L Holt                SENCO & DSL                                              holtl@josephwhitaker.org

Miss A Balchin        Head of Clumber House & DSL               balchina@josephwhitaker.org

Miss E Godwin        Head of Newstead House & DSL             godwine@josephwhitaker.org

Mrs N Riding           Head of Newstead House & DSL             ridingn@josephwhitaker.org

Mr N Moore            Head of Rufford House & DSL                  mooren@josephwhitaker.org

Mr S Denby             Head of Sherwood House & DSL              denbys@josephwhitaker.org

Mrs M Baggaley     Attendance and student welfare & DSL   baggaleym@josephwhitaker.org

 

The Joseph Whitaker School is fortunate to have the support from a Schools Liaison Police Officer.

Contact details are:  PC 833 Sally Cartwright

Schools and Early Intervention Officer – Newark and Sherwood

sally.cartwright@notts.police.uk

07787 175031

 

Out of hours safeguarding concern

If you have concerns for the safety of a child out of school hours, please contact:

  • Nottinghamshire Multi Agency Safeguarding Hub: 0300 500 80 80
  • If you require an urgent response outside of working hours (08:30-17:00), contact Nottinghamshire’s Emergency Duty Team (EDT) on 0300 456 4546.
  • In an emergency call 999
  • To report a crime, call 101

 

Attendance

Absence and lateness are closely monitored by Student Services, the Pastoral Team and the Attendance and Welfare Manager.  Reasons are sought for all absences.  Concerns around attendance may be referred to the Designated Safeguarding Lead.  Parents/carers will be notified of attendance concerns at the earliest convenience.  Guidance can be found here.

 

Multi-agency support

The Joseph Whitaker School works closely with a range of external agencies, these can include health, social services and the Police but most safeguarding cases do not require this level of input.  However, we will not hesitate to work closely with our families and these agencies in order to safeguard children.

 

Parental support

There are a range of organisations that you may wish to contact that offer specific help and support for families.

 

 

Online Safety                                                                                                                                                            

The ever present access to social media and the internet, we all have a part to play in keeping children safe. You can find help and support at the following:

NSPCC https://www.nspcc.org.uk/keeping-children-safe/online-safety/

UK Safer Internet Centre https://saferinternet.org.uk/guide-and-resource/parents-and-carers

CEOP https://www.thinkuknow.co.uk/parents/

Please refer to the guides below for support on online safety.